RSS

So What’s My Story?

17 Nov

We all have a story right? Well most of us, on how we decided to what some may seem as joining the “natural hair band wagon” Let me tell you, I am so very thankful for the so-called “natural hair band wagon” because of this “trend” I have discovered something sooooo beautiful, so pure, so devine, ok, well maybe not that deep but I can truly say going natural has been one of the best decisions of my life. I have always wanted healthy hair. I can remember as a young girl being upset that I didn’t have “good hair” like my mother, crazy right?? All I wanted was long, sleek, shiny, hair. Well that was not the case, my hair was kinky and coily & b/c my mom only knew about the hot comb and relaxers to make it straight she opt for the good ole “Creamy Crack” hahahaha who came up with that name, “Creamy Crack” lol. Anyway, I don’t know at what age I received my first relaxer but it must have been very early in childhood because I can’t even think back to a time that I didn’t have a relaxer in my hair.

So fast forward, one day I’m looking at youtube videos and I come across a lady who shared her hair regimen and I thought WOW, I can do that but again she had a relaxer, so I began taking better care of my hair, sites like hairlista.com and youtube sensation Ateeya became my new best friends. So after about 2yrs of growing my hair from ear length to almost collar bone I thought how can I get it even healthier? After seeing a few pics of girls with natural hair on facebook the thought began to cross my mind of what would I look like if I were to go without the “creamy crack.” Well, first let me tell you I have never ever in my life, until that point, imagined EVER going without my 6-8wk relaxer; I was a faithful relaxer. But their hair looked healthy and that’s what I was aiming for. So, after consulting with my husband, my stylist at the time, my dad, my mom, my sister, my bestfriend, and whoever else that would listen I decided I wanted to go NATURAL.The journey had begun! THANK GOD FOR YOUTUBE!!! I swear I youtube all day and all night. I spent hrs upon hrs looking videos and I thought OMG this is so serious! I was also a bit relieved because at that moment I felt like I had all the support I needed. All the free advice, tutorials, everything!!

So, on October 1st, 2010 I did the unimaginable, without transitioning, without hesitation, I cut it all off.  One word….LIBERATED. So here I am wanting to give back by inspiring those who have yet to be inspired, those who are considering going natural, and those who have already took the plunge of this new exciting life of being….NATURAL!!!

 
 

Tags:

4 responses to “So What’s My Story?

  1. Alicia Heath

    August 4, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    I cut mine off and now I want to know is texturizing the hair ok?

     
    • naturalhairfanatic

      August 20, 2013 at 8:55 pm

      Texturizers are considered a chemical process so it’s not really “natural” but you have to do what accommodates you. There’s a lot of work when dealing with your natural hair but trust it’ll be worth it once you really get to know your hair. Love you thanks for stopping by cousin 😉

       
  2. wrightlovehonestly

    June 4, 2014 at 12:45 am

    Very pretty!

     

Leave a Reply

 
