RSS

My Natural Hair Regimen and Products I Love!!

20 Jan

I am not a product junkie, I am not a product junkie, I am NOT a product junkie. *Looks around room with guilt* Ok, ok so I like to try new products every paycheck, lol. I admit while I am not out every second trying to find the “new thing” I’m up to try a new deep conditioner every now and then. I must say I’m a believer in the old saying. “If it aint broke, don’t fix it” With that said while I do have a few staples I’m open to try new things.

Right now I wash and deep condition weekly. After, I apply my leave-in conditioner, a moisturizer, oil, and butter; in that order.  My go to style are flat twist but if I have time I may two strand twist my hair. In the early days of my BC I use to wash-n-go (you mean to tell me I can now wash my hair…EVERYDAY!!!) but now with so much growth I prefer to wear twist outs. As of now listed below are products I am currently using.

Shampoo (once a week)

  • Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo
  • ApHogee Shampoo for Damaged Hair

Deep Conditioner (once a week for at least an hr)

  • Beautiful Textures Rapid Repair Deep Conditioner
  • Proclaim Argan Oil Intense Moisturizing Conditioner
  • Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner
  • Honeysuckle Rose® Moisturizing Conditioner

Protein Treatment (every 2 weeks)

  • ApHogee Intensive Two Minute Keratin Reconstructor

Leave-In Conditioner (after every wash)

  • Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner (LOVE THIS STUFF!!!)
  • Giovanni Direct Leave In Conditioner (Great for TWA’s)
  • Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Leave-In Conditioning Cream

Moisturizer

  • Africa’s Best Kids’ Organics Detangling Moisturizing Hair Lotion
  • Good Ole H20 (water)

Oils

  • Castor Oil (Used more in the summer months)
  • Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Jojoba Oil
  • Grapeseed Oil

Butter

  • Shea Moisture Organic Curl Enhancing Smoothie Coconut & Hibiscus (Yeesssss!!!!)
 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “My Natural Hair Regimen and Products I Love!!

  1. Celestine Peters

    November 27, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    After seeing your hair this weekend it made me want to go natural but I must admit, I’m lazy when it comes to personal care, such as hair maintenance. I will get it together!

     
  2. Beauty Talk With LaRonya B.

    June 24, 2013 at 11:00 am

    I am really loving your regimen and how you explain things. It’s so helpful and really simple if you are consitent.

     
    • naturalhairfanatic

      August 4, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      Thanks LARonya!! I really appreciate that. I wish I could do more but with kids and work it’s so difficult. I’m just glad I could be of some help to you!! Be Blessed.

       
  3. ibuje

    August 8, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    I’ve always been told that it’s best to use the same brand for your shampoo and conditioner since the companies formulate them to complement each other in order to balance the pH of your hair. Should this be taken into consideration when choosing a shampoo, deep conditioner, and leave in conditioner?

     
    • naturalhairfanatic

      August 20, 2013 at 9:03 pm

      Yes and no. I use shea moisture shampoo and conditioner for that very reason BUT you should always have at least 2-3 conditioners in your stash. Sometimes our hair can get so used to that one conditioner it stops responding (does that make sense, lol). You should substitute between a protein conditioner and a moisturizing conditioner. As far as my leave in I use a separate brand because it’s what works for me.

      Basically while using one brand may better balance the pH of your hair if that’s your only worry just do a ACV rinse and that’ll solve your problem. Hope this helps and thanks for stopping by my page!

       
  4. Mary

    September 9, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    Helpful post! Thanks for sharing your hair regimen and also for suggesting those products. Will try them too and see if it’ll work for me. Keep it up! Have a nice day! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
