RSS

10 Easy Summer/Spring Hair Tips for Maintaining Natural Hair!!

10 Jun

Hi Beautiful Ladies!!! The weather’s changing and if you’re like me you’re ready to put those boots away, step into your cutest sandals, and head to the beach! Now that you’re all “natural” most of you feel like “YES, I can finally go swimming and not have to worry about my hair” true but not entirely.

The question now is how can we keep this hair of ours moisturize, when the SUN plays a major role in drying out natural hair. I have provided a list of 10 easy Summer/Spring hair tips used to combat dry hair…hope this helps!

1. Swimming This Summer?

-Be sure to protect your hair by wearing a swim cap. After swimming, wash and condition your hair as usual. Now, for those who want to be cute and would rather not be seen in a swim cap, make sure your hair is detangled before diving into chlorine or salt water. If you’ve been waiting for a good time to use your clarifying shampoo, now’s the time to use it. Clarifying shampoos are specifically created for getting rid of chlorine and other harming chemicals.

2. Stay Away From Drying Products

-It’s already difficult enough to keep our hair moisturized. Avoid using products that contain alcohol, sulfur, and formaldehyde all in which aid in stripping moisture from your hair. Instead opt for those products containing natural oils and humectants.

3.  Humectants (Honey & Glycerin)

During the summer months, if you live in a more humid climate, humectants are your best friend. Common humectants include honey, glycerin, castor oil, panthenol, hydrolized wheat protein, and propylene glycol. These ingredients draw moisture from the humidity in the air into your hair leaving it shiny and healthy. Now for those living in a drier climate, using humectants can be bad because if the air is dry, the humectants will pull the moisture out of your hair.

**Note: I personally love to use castor oil during the summer months as well adding honey to my deep conditioners.

4.      Air Dry or Limit the use of direct heat

– “Wash-n-Go” styles are great to add to your Summer/Spring hair regimen. By doing this you’ll be allowing your hair to air dry rather than applying heat which could lead to damage hair. For those who’d rather wear their hair straight, make sure to apply a heat protectant to your hair before using a heat appliance. Use the lowest settings on the appliance to avoid damage.

5.      Deep Conditioning

-Be sure to deep condition your hair weekly. This can be done by using a good moisturizing conditioner or by doing a hot oil treatment.

6.      Use a Thick leave-in Conditioner

-After deep conditioning your hair you should ALWAYS apply a leave-in conditioner to your hair to retain moisture.

7.      Moisture & Seal

-Your hair thrives on moisture. Make sure to apply a moisturizer to the ends of your hair followed by an oil to seal the moisture in as needed.

8.      Baggy Method

– Apply a moisturizer to your hair, and then cover your hair with plastic cap to trap in the moisture. This method is used to retain moisture in the hair and is very good for those who have dry, brittle strands. This can be done overnight.

9.      Co-Wash Your Hair

– It may help to wash your hair with conditioner instead of using shampoo. This method cleanses your hair while helping you to maintain moisture without stripping the hair of its natural oils.

10.   Stay Hydrated!

-It’s simple…DRINK MORE WATER!! Keep your body hydrated starting on the inside first.

Alright ladies, there you have it. Again, I hope this helps. What measures are you taking to combat dry hair?

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “10 Easy Summer/Spring Hair Tips for Maintaining Natural Hair!!

  1. Carmen

    May 23, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    I just recently found out the joy of using castor oil. Works great on my girls hair as well as my hair. Ever had any problems with castor oil build up?

     
    • naturalhairfanatic

      June 14, 2012 at 7:40 am

      I love LOVE using Castor Oil but it does leave oil prints on my pillow case if I dont wash my hair every week. I try to only use it for sealing in moisture on my ends every other night.

       
  2. desi

    June 11, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    I have just taken off my weave and cap. My hair is fine and curly. I am totally natural but I do have a semi permanent copper/gold color in it. My color at this point before semi color is totally gray, so the gold and cooper like great together. i moisturize every night and sllep with a satin nitecap on. I hope this is the right way to handle this. Anymore advise?

     
    • naturalhairfanatic

      July 29, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Seems like you have it all together Ms Desi! I would recommend also using a satin pillow case this helps just in case that bonnet decides to fall off! Have you tried using the “baggy method” This is when you apply a conditioner or any water-based product to the hair then place a plastic shower cap over the hair. The purpose of the baggy method is to lock in moisture to the hair.

       
  3. Cierra

    June 24, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Great tips. I love castor oil. I just introduced honey into our regimen ( my toddler and I). So I’m looking to see how that works. Thanks for the great tips!!

     
    • naturalhairfanatic

      July 29, 2012 at 8:11 pm

      Yes mam Castor Oil makes my hair feel like butter!! I too enjoy mixing honey into my deep conditioner!

       
  4. Mary

    July 28, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks for the hair tips. I love it! Will definitely follow them step by step. Have a nice day!

     

Leave a comment